Hello guys...I just wanted to know how everyone is feeling today after our run on McCarren yesterday afternoon.I know that for many of you, it was a very challenging run. I was very impressed with how everyone seemed to be running.
I hope that the DVD was helpful in terms of "form." I'm very curious to know how you guys are recovering today. I know that Julian's feet were very sore last night...I think I'll take him out today and get some new shoes...and I think I'll get myself some new ones while I'm at it.
My feet were a little sore last night as well. I think it was because when we were coming down the San Rafael hill yesterday, it felt sooooo good...that it prompted a major burst of energy ...so Matty, Bryan and I picked up the pace and sailed all the way down that hill...what can I say---it felt good.
I also noticed that Jangle really found her form the last 2 miles and was seriously churning up the asphalt. She took a tip from our Masai runner and worked on the white line (ask me about it later).
Also...Helen finished strong after her first trip up El Diablo! Eight miles is two miles farther than she's ever done--congratulations!
Also...Bryan finally found a use for his shoes this time when he had to detour over to the "Johnny on the Spot" potty shack (you figure it out).
Now I didn't get to run much with Ben yesterday, but I do understand that he loves hills now, more than ever. I noticed that not even Shawn's relentless enthusiam could draw Ben into conversation as he was focused quite deliberately on his breathing technique. (By the way, this is Shawn's style...he gets you talking and laughing until you're gasping for air, and then he takes off up the hill and leaves you wondering why you can't breathe--be forwarned!)...
I was glad to see everybody else finish...though I didn't see you Brint...are you OK today?--I know you started out feeling kinda funky.
Next week I'll chose a route that is "non-McCarren"...so it should be a lot more fun.
Let us know how you're doing!
Dennis
11 comments:
I've never ran on McCarren. I have ran on McCarran though. ;>)
...actually, the proper English would be, "I have RUN on McCarran."
I feel great! Yeah, I know what you mean when you said that you received a burst of energy down the hill. I felt like I wasn't running, just picking up my feet, as the video said... Anyhew, I look forward to running again- I never thought I would say that! My feet feel good also, so it must have been just getting used to the new shoes last week.
i do believe that attempting to run using the new form is really making my runs harder and more painful. while i believe there will be a payoff if i actually manage to do it right - i'm not sure i can do it right without more instruction. my back is completely sore, it has never hurt after runs until i've attempted to change runnings forms, and i have yet to make it up el diablo worrying about my column and trying to keep my feet straight.
as of yet i have not finished a long run of any length i have set out on and found aches and pains i have never experienced running before. i am at a point of rethinking why i am running and what my goals are.
Hills are ok. That is why we have motorized vehicles. My quads are a bit sore today, but that's it. My right foot was hurting in the same spot that my left one hurt last year. Seems lame. I think baby Jesus is telling me something. I also think the form is a little strange. Not sure I'm doing it right.
Brent-- Sorry, that you're feeling frustrated. You know that I love you. You have to get realistic about this with yourself. The form takes a bit of getting used to, but it really doesn't take that long and it makes the whole body feel better (seriously). You've been out sick and haven't been running during the week. That's a recipe for disaster when you think in terms of running a Long Run (LR). Illness happens. It sets us back, so we just go back a week or two in Long Run distance and build back up. Given the time-frame of early Feb. - early May, the marathon schedule is a little flexible, but in order to get the distance needed to adequately train you-- the schedule needs to be stuck to. In my opinion and only my opinion, I think the 13.1 is doable for you (given your situation and where you sit in the training schedule). 26.2 is NO joke. If your feet, ankles, bones, muscles, lungs, abs, etc.. aren't prepared, you will have a complete and utter struggle to finish. There's also nothing wrong with the 10K (6.2 miles). You see, it's one thing to want something, it's another to go for it and stay healthy. I hope you continue to run and be healthy for you. Make it a lifestyle for your own health. Don't worry about what others are doing or what they might think. Love on yourself by Body Sensing every time you run. Run within your means/fitness level. Improve with time-- lots of time. See you on race day. I know you'll be there. :>)
...digaP, I feel your pain man...McCarrAn is a crucible, and probably not the best place to be figuring out a new form. next sunday we will head to flatter land where you can focus without having to gasp for air...
For more specific form instruction, I highly recommend Danny Dreyer's book, CHI Running...he has much more info and exercises that will help...it has taken me a month now to begin to feel the column consistently, and when I do forget it (usually because of fatigue)my feet and knees let me know...the lower back problems, according to Dreyer, occur because bending at the hips (even slightly)forces your lower back muscles to support the weight of the upper body...ouch. There's some really good stuff in his book on this (pg 161-162) along with some exercises to be doing every day. Maybe I'll post some of them.
BirdMan...good comments that we could all take to heart.
Murdoc...if all that's sore today is your quads, that's fantastic (means your form is correct)...also if your right foot is hurting (where the left one hurt last year), I bet it is because of the slant of the road...I'm curious...did you run FACING the traffic last year, like we did yesterday?
Okay, so I really don't think I'll ever think of McCarran the same again....Even thinking of taking the "Mc" out of my blog name, ha!
I am still a little sore today...nothing like yesterday though. After taking Dennis' advice, I took a hot bath on Sunday, which my feet are forever grateful.
Looking forward to practicing good form on a more forgiving road this Sunday.
Jangle--you are a rock star! Glad to hear your feet feel good and your new shoes are broken in. I am rethinking my shoes (geez, are we sick my shoe issue yet?), and wondering if I should just go with an 8 1/2. Felt that same weird pain again in my toes that I never had with all my other 8 1/2 running shoes.
helen...don't settle for anything other than PERFECT when it comes to your feet...I have gone thru 3 or 4 pairs before finding one I stick with that is just right...when I find it, I'll go back and get another pair within a week or two, so I have a backup...if you can do it, I recommend it...
Everything starts and stops with the feet...
btw, feeling a little less sore and sick i must comment on the amusement i found in jay and den's little exchange re: spelling and grammar. good work, boys!
I feel good now. On Sunday, my knees hurt about 6 hours after the run. Monday, my knees were tight and kept popping. Today, Tues., they feel great. Bring on the 14 miles.
Post a Comment